Mimecast is committed to continuously improving the user experience for our customers. As part of this effort, we’re excited to announce upcoming changes to the Administration Console menu. These changes are designed to streamline navigation, reduce complexity, and provide a foundation for future improvements.
Why are we making this change?
We’ve heard from many of you that navigating the Administration Console can be time-consuming, with related features sometimes showing in different menu areas. To address this, we’ve redesigned the menu to make it more intuitive, helping you find what you need faster and with less effort.
This update does not solve all of the usability challenges within Administration Console but is intended to create the foundation that will enable Mimecast to improve the overall navigation within Administration Console.
How will this impact me?
The new menu will initially be available as an optional feature, giving you the flexibility to switch between the new and legacy menus. While the functionality on each page remains the same, we encourage you to explore (and keep!) the updated menu and share your feedback. This will allow us to make further improvements before the new menu becomes the default for all users.
What will the updated menu look like?
How did we decide on the changes?
These changes are the result of extensive customer research, feedback, and analysis of how you use our platform. We’ve also incorporated industry best practices and aligned the menu with our evolving product portfolio. While this update sets a new direction for the menu, future adjustments will be incremental and informed by your feedback.
How can I give feedback?
Your feedback is essential in helping us improve the Administration Console experience! You can share your thoughts by submitting a feature request in the Resource Center—just select 'New Menu' as the product area. Additionally, you may see in-app feedback requests. Please take a moment to rate your experience and leave comments—your input makes a significant difference!
As always with feedback, the more context the better! This helps us understand the request and provide quicker responses.
Try it out!
We’re excited to bring you this updated menu structure and look forward to hearing your thoughts. Try out the new menu today and let us know how we can make it even better!
Comments
As a new user to mimecast, all of your documentation is geared towards the old menu.
This is extremely frustrating when trying to lookup documentation and you have the new menu turned on and nothing is where the documentation says it is.
Perhaps you can have a version control aligned with your documentation.
I.E. version X comes out and the documentation matches and is accurate for version X.
Thanks for the feedback! This is why we've made the new menu an opt-in for now and have provided the ability to switch back and forth. It sounds like in your case, getting started with the existing menu makes sense. Once we've gathered feedback on the menu and prior to general availability, we'll be updating the documentation.
why does choosing to see the “Audit” menu, resets the console and clear all the options and make the page load significantly longer when you choose any other menu after that?
Michael:
I can't reproduce this behavior. Are you referring to "Audit Logs" under "Account"? I have recently cleared my browser cache, but I tried in two different browsers. Let us know if you still see this behavior.
Thanks!
Dawn Cronin
In reply to Dawn Cronin - Moderator:
I created a new workspace and added the following:
Message Center
Audit Logs
Profile Groups
Managed Senders
Threat Remediation
I clicked on all of the above (except Audit Logs) once. Now when switching between these menus, it takes less than a tenth of a second to switch between them. However, if I choose “Audit Logs” then it takes a long time to switch to any other menu. If you click Audit Logs and then another menu like “Message Center” and then “Audit logs” and then “Message Center” again, it will refresh the page. If you do a search in “Message Tracking” and then click “Profile Groups” and click back into “Message Tracking”, the search would still be there but if you click “Audit Logs” and then click back to “Message tracking” then the search is gone. Why does going to the “Audit Logs” page reset the whole workspace? This looks like a bug as it's not documented anywhere.
Michael:
Since this behavior is seen in the "Workspace", which is a feature in the current Mimecast Administration Console, you could open a Mimecast Support case to report this behavior. This may not be related to the "preview" of the rearranged menus.
Thanks for your explanation!
Dawn Cronin
In reply to Dawn Cronin - Moderator:
were you able to reproduce this behavior though?
Michael:
If the Support team can reproduce a behavior, that team can escalate through the correct escalation path, if necessary. You will also have a case number to use for tracking and documentation. I have not been available to test it out yet today, which is why I suggest contacting Mimecast Support.
Thanks for understanding and your patience.
Dawn Cronin
Scott, those are planned to be added back. See Email Security Cloud Gateway - Navigation - Apr 2025, which states:
"The Menu Search and Favorites will not be available but will be included in upcoming updates."
Thanks!
Dawn Cronin
In reply to Michael G:
Michael:
My understanding of the processes at work when you are clicking from "Message Tracking" to "Audit Logs" and back…every Archive search is logged and that includes searches for "Message Tracking", and I think logically the Audit Logging would be involved in that process. So, if I run a "Message search" it is logged, then I proceed as you do, I might expect some latency due to the log being updated. I ran a Message Tracking search from my Workspace (created as you did) and after I have seen the behavior you report, I also checked in the Archive | Search Logs, and I see the entry for the Message Tracking search I ran:
I did not compare time stamps, but I think that could be one reason the search results are gone when you switch back, the search details have been logged in the audit/search log.
Support may offer a different explanation but to me this is expected due to the requirement to log every search for security purposes.
I hope this helps!
Dawn Cronin
Please sign in to leave a comment.